Church Staff of Moe Lutheran

Church Office: (218) 463-2069; Fax: (218) 463-3599

Pastor Dave Swonger
Deacon Joanne Swonger 
Office Hours: Monday-Thursday 10 a.m.-1 p.m. 
 Office & Financial Secretary - Lindsay Paulson
 Office hours: Summer hours Tuesday's 9 a.m.-3 p.m. & Wednesday's 9 a.m.-noon
 Adult Choir Director - Robb Johnson
 Bell Choir Director - Judy Magnusson
 Prayer Chain Contacts - Sara Olson and Sharon Pelowski
 Facebook - Moe Lutheran Church
 Webmaster - Lindsay Paulson 

2020 Officers of the Congregation:
President: Tracey Wensloff
Vice Chairperson: Cameron Olson
Treasurer: Terry Lee
Secretary: Lori Weston

2020 Council Members: 
Melissa Brandt -- Liaison to Mission & Outreach Committee
Mary Vatnsdal -- Liaison to Stewardship Committee
Tom Johnson -- Liaison to Propety Committee
Jack Swanson -- Liaison to Education Committee
Brad Bassingthwaite -- Liaison to Youth Committee
Scott Vatnsdal -- Liaison to Worship & Music Committee 
W/ELCA Co-Presidents:  Julie Carlson and Sara Olson 
Dear Friends in Christ,

As we share this Advent greeting with you, it seems so appropriate to begin with the words…”Thank you.”
  Thank you for the warm, gracious, and hospitable welcome so many of you have shared with us during our first days in Roseau.  Thank you for delicious hot dishes of tater tots, pasta, chili and lasagna that kept us well-nourished as we moved into our new home.  Thank you for tasty cupcakes, sugary treats, and Roseau souvenirs that made us feel loved from the very beginning.  Thank you for many offers to help us move boxes as we settled into our offices.  Thank you for the very generous financial provision that completely addressed the cost of our move!  Thank you for the abundant greetings offered verbally, online, and with spontaneous visits that have warmed our hearts as we adjusted to leaving our home of 26 years to embrace life in a community we already think of as our “home.”

As we step forward with you into the future that lies ahead, it also seems right to highlight another word…HOPE.  While there are many themes that can be highlighted during the season of Advent, the one word that seems best suited to this season is HOPE!  A hope that has sustained the faithful throughout the ages.  A hope whose strength is deeply rooted in God’s proven faithfulness to all people!  A HOPE anchored in the truth that our God is worthy of our trust and is deeply invested in us!

The well-known Christmas hymn, “O Holy Night” reminds us of this remarkable truth.


O holy night, the stars are brightly shining, It is the night of our dear Savior’s birth;

Long lay the world in sin and error pining, Til he appeared and the soul felt its worth.

A thrill of hope the weary world rejoices, For yonder breaks a new and glorious morn;

Fall on your knees, Oh hear the angel voices!

O night divine! O night when Christ was born.

O night, O holy night, O night divine.


Dear friends, as we approach the celebration of our Savior’s birth this Christmas…A Christmas that will be remarkably different…A Christmas marked by COVID-19 restrictions and many other unknowns…may our thoughts remain centered upon the joy of the first Holy Night of long ago, when our Savior “appeared.”  A truly holy night when a new Light, cradled in a forlorn little stable in Bethlehem, became the fulfillment of all our hopes and dreams!


And so it was…that on the night of “our dear Savior’s birth”… “a thrill of HOPE” was reignited…causing our “weary world” to rejoice!  THANKS BE TO GOD!  As God’s people, may it become so with each of us as we embrace our future in this same spirit of hope!  Let us live into this hope in these Advent days, as we step graciously and courageously into our new future…together. 



Pastor Dave & Deacon Joanne 




           SUNDAY SCHOOL





All Rights Reserved. 2010. Moe Lutheran Church website by North Country Websites, Inc.